

COUNCIL MINUTES November 30, 2022 – 9:00 AM

Council Present: Mayor Horner, Deputy Mayor Hawkins, Councillor Clark, Councillor

Cunningham, Councillor Lyon

Staff Present: Tracey Atkinson – CAO/Clerk/Planner, Heather Boston, Treasurer,

Roseann Knechtel - Deputy Clerk/Planning Coordinator

1.0 WELCOME

Tracey Atkinson, CAO/Clerk/Planner, welcomed those in attendance.

2.0 PROCESSION OF COUNCIL

Council members were piped into the Council Chambers.

3.0 O CANADA

Those in attendance rose for the national anthem.

4.0 CALL TO ORDER

Tracey Atkinson, CAO/Clerk/Planner, called the meeting to order at 9:04 a.m.

5.0 LAND ACKNOWELDGEMENT

We begin this meeting by acknowledging that we are meeting upon the traditional Indigenous lands of the Tionontati (Petun) and Treaty 18 territory of the Anishinaabe peoples. We recognize and deeply appreciate their historic connection to this place and we also recognize the contributions Indigenous peoples have made, both in shaping and strengthening our community, province and country as a whole.

6.0 DECLARATIONS OF OFFICE

Tracey Atkinson, CAO/Clerk/Planner, called upon each Council member to take their oath of office.

Kim Lyon took the oath of office and seat as Councillor.

Andrew Cunningham took the oath of office and seat as Councillor.

Patricia Clark took the oath of office and seat as Councillor.

Earl Hawkins took the oath of office and seat as Deputy Mayor.

Janet Horner took the oath of office and seat as Mayor.

7.0 PRESENTATION OF GAVEL TO CHAIR

Tracey Atkinson, CAO/Clerk presented Mayor Horner with the gavel following the oath of office.

8.0 REMARKS

Each Council member was provided an opportunity to address the residents of Mulmur.

Councillor Kim Lyon expressed gratitude for the opportunity to serve and Council and is looking forward to serving the residents of Mulmur.

Councillor Andrew Cunningham is happy to be returning and is looking forward to serving the residents of Mulmur.

Councillor Patricia Clark is looking forward to returning and seeing initiatives through. Councillor Clark thanked the residents of Mulmur for voting and those who assisted in her campaign.

Deputy Mayor Earl Hawkins thanked supporters and is looking forward to the next four years. Deputy Mayor Hawkins thanked the staff of Mulmur.

Mayor Janet Horner feels honoured to be acclaimed Mayor and is looking forward to working together, moving Mulmur forward in the controlled and careful way. Mayor Horner acknowledged the members of Council and expressed confidence in the team.

9.0 ADMINISTRATION

9.1 Committee and Board Appointments

Tracey Atkinson and Roseann Knechtel presented the legislated Boards and Committee's requiring appointment.

Council discussion ensued on suggested appointments.

Moved by Cunningham Seconded by Clark

THAT Council receive the report of Tracey Atkinson and Roseann Knechtel, Council Committees and Boards;

AND THAT Council appoint the following Council members to sit on the Boards and Committees for a term of two (2) years:

- Mansfield Parks Committee (1): Councillor Cunningham
- Mulmur-Melancthon Fire Board (2): Deputy Mayor Hawkins and Councillor Lyon
- North Dufferin Community Centre Board (1): Councillor Cunningham
- Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority (1): Mayor Horner
- Police Service Board (1): Councillor Cunningham
- Provincial Offences (1): Councillor Lyon
- Rosemont District Fire Board (2): Deputy Mayor Hawkins and Councillor Clark
- Shelburne & District Fire Board (2): Mayor Horner and Deputy Mayor Hawkins
- Shelburne Library Board (1): Councillor Clark

AND THAT Council direct staff to advertise for citizen representation on the Mansfield Parks Committee, North Dufferin Community Centre Board, Police Services Board, and Economic Development Committee;

AND FURTHER THAT Council approve the Terms of Reference for the Economic Development Committee and Mansfield Parks Committee.

CARRIED.

10.0 PASSING OF BY-LAWS

10.1 Confirmatory By-law

Moved by Hawkins and Seconded by Clark

THAT By-Law 10.1 be approved.

CARRIED.

21.0 ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Lyon and Seconded by Cunningham

THAT Council adjourns the meeting at 9:42 a.m. to meet again on December 14, 2022, or at the call of the Chair.

CARRIED.

Janet Horner	Tracey Atkinson
Janet Horner, Mayor	Tracey Atkinson, CAO/Clerk